Laundry

28 December 2011

Today, I needed to do laundry. It turns out that doing laundry in basins is more difficult than I expected. Mama Mlay had to help me. Their little 2 or 3 year old grandson who so far has been afraid of me sat and watched me the whole time not talking. He even pulled a stool over to sit on! The lesson this morning was on soil conseravation; basically, how to avoid erosion. I saw some examples on the farm. I graded tomatoes for the market. It’s the only farmwork i’ve done so far. I thought I was coming to work on a farm…

I went with Mr Mlay to visit his in-laws in the evening and Al-Jazeera was on. It was the first news I’ve had since being here. I miss knowing what’s going on in the world.

I feel like I have to stay In Tanzania after the program is over because it would be a waste not to. I’ve been putting the effort into learning Swahili, and because the program is shaping up to be a bit of a joke (to put it nicely), I think I need to stay to justify the money I spent getting here. I’m not as enthusiastic for opportunities here as I think I should be. Hopefully I will feel like I’m helping people at some point in the future and that will help with motivation.

Leave a Reply

